How to Grow Tobacco

How to grow and process tobacco at home for personal use. This is a non-commercial hobby website.
Tobacco Picture Gallery Click Here
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:24 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Best soil type??
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:03 pm 

Hey there, im a newbie to growing Tobacco.We live in the North Island of New Zealand..Would really appreciate any tips on what soil type works best,what..if anything should we add to the soil?Is an acidic soil or low acid soil better??etc..Thank you :?

Post subject: Re: Best soil type??
PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 8:41 pm 

Here a little reading for you .It may help or may not.

http://www.ca.uky.edu/agc/pubs/agr/agr19/agr19.htm

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:03 am 

Location: The Real Columbia River Gorge in Skamania County Southern Washington State Member # 1439
Quote:
Soil pH should be about 5.8 for best growth of tobacco. If lime is needed to raise the pH, use dolomite to get the magnesium nutrient that is important for plant growth. Poor growth and some growth disorders may occur if the soil pH is about 6.5 or more.

http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/aa260

I had a soil test done on my patch and the ph was 6.4 so I added some sulfur it should be about 6.0 now.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:05 am 

IMO... :roll: I think a sandy loam might be a good soil type, that would provide good drainage for the roots.
Baccy don't like wet muddy feet all the time. :wink:
rc

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:03 am 

The very best soil I know of is any soil my tobacco plants have their roots stuck in :wink: