How to Grow Tobacco

How to grow and process tobacco at home for personal use. This is a non-commercial hobby website.
Tobacco Picture Gallery Click Here
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:33 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Pipe tobacco, seeds?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:49 pm 

Hello all I 'm new at growing I had a small crop this past summer some turkish and burly. I planted to late and didn't get any seeds I also am looking at a lot of brittle green turkish (not sure what happened there) and I'm now dealing with mold on the burly. Lot to learn about curing, oh man! Anyway I have been somoking a pipe for a couple of years and this is why I want to grow and blend my own tobacco. So all that being said I'm looking at new seeds and wanting to know get some direction as to what I should plant. I also smoke mostly cavindish or red ribbion but that has more to do with cost of exploring tobacco.
I would appreciate any help.
Thanks
Canadian

Post subject: Re: Pipe tobacco, seeds?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:53 pm 

Send me a PM and I will be happy to send you seed.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 7:45 am 

Pipe Smokers:
Quote:
So all that being said I'm looking at new seeds and wanting to know get some direction as to what I should plant

For you pipe smokers out there, Canadian would like some advice on what type of seed to buy/acquire to get a good smoke. Let's help him out with some suggestions.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:28 am 

I like FMGrowit's perique...
...think he will sell some seed at a reasonable price.

and from MY experience, pipe tobacco is any number of different kinds of baccy, most cured, or aged, with different kinds of 'sauce'.

The Burley 21 I grow would be dandy for a pipe, as it is a substantial leaf that could lend itself well to application of 'sauce', or used standalone, after a period of aging.

I'm in the process of attempting a Perique styled cure/aging process with it, now.

Good luck!
rc